ASEAN Economic Community Blueprint, 2025

ASEAN Economic Community Blueprint, 2025
July 24 11:33 2016

ASEAN Economic Community Blueprint (AEC 2025) was adopted at the 27th ASEAN Summit on 22 November 2015 in Kula Lumpur, Malaysia by the ASEAN leaders. AEC 2025 gives broad orientations for the development of ASEAN from 2016 to 2025. The AEC Blueprint 2025 is aimed toward obtaining the vision of having an AEC 2025 that is highly integrated and cohesive competitive, innovative and dynamic, integrated with the global economy. AEC 2025 comprises 5 parts which are interrelated and mutually reinforcing, respectively: (Section A) A highly Integrated and Cohesive Economy; (Section B) A Competitive, Innovative, and Dynamic ASEAN; (Section C) Enhanced Connectivity and Sectoral Cooperation; (Section D) A Resilient, Inclusive, People-Oriented, and People-Centred ASEAN; and (Section E) A Global ASEAN.

Issues on Intellectual Property Rights (IP) are defined in section B.3 which is named: “Strengthening intellectual property rights cooperation”. ASEAN recognizes the important role of IP in contributing to the achievement of national and regional socio – economic development goals. The priority task is protecting IP to facilitate and stimulate innovation and creativity in ASEAN.

For the full text of document, please click here:

AEC Blueprint